We picked up Trooper, a.k.a. THE NEW PUPPY!, yesterday after a whirlwind visit in the town. 
He slept almost the whole way home (hours and hours and hours...) and was content to just lie in our arms and snuggle. 

We were both exhausted when we got settled in for the night, and the moment I placed Trooper in his crate, I was like, ohhh yeahhhh.  I remember this.  He immediately started whining and whimpering, just like Cosette did her first few days home. 

Last night wasn't too bad as far as puppyhood goes.  No accidents in the crate.  I woke up with him at 2:30 a.m. to let him out for a potty break and he settled back down after a few minutes of whining and howling.  He was up at 5:30 a.m. and I knew he wouldn't be able to get back to sleep, so I rose with him. 

He's eaten his breakfast, done his business outside and has a morning full of play under his metaphorical belt.  He's now sleeping under my chair as Cosette snoozes nearby. 

When I was carrying him to the yard last night from the car, Cosette was outside to greet us and she immediately came up to sniff the new arrival.  Trooper immediately barked and growled at her while he was still in my arms!  It was the cutest little growl you've ever heard.    I put Trooper on the ground and he and Cosette quickly became friends - or realized they were family, I'm not sure.  Aunt and nephew.  They've been playing together all morning.  Cosette has found herself another buddy, and I couldn't imagine a more perfect playmate.




Leave a Reply.