After one year, 10 months, and 9 days, I have let Cosette begin to have independence in the household.  Meaning, I let her have full reign in the house while I'm gone.  It's been in little spurts here and there.  A quick run to the grocery store, a longer evening with dinner and a movie.  Several occasions of her not destroying any of my property like young Labs are renowned for doing.

Sure, she swallows knee-high hose occasionally, but darn it if my cupboards aren't chewed through and doors aren't clawed at!  Hot damn, she even leaves the toilet paper roll alone. 

I haven't let her have complete freedom all day long if I know I will be gone for a long period of time.  Cause isn't that what you really want:  after a long stressful day, coming home to a wagging dog and pillows shredded?  I don't.  So I trust her for shorter periods.  And she's done really well so far!  She knows not to get on furniture unless invited, she doesn't chew or dig or scratch or destroy.  Now, she's had her fair share of "whoopsies," but hey, that was all puppy behavior, right? 

So I'm trusting her.  I'm trusting her to only greet me at the door with a big Lab grin, and with no wood splinters stuck in her teeth, or no couch filling coming out her butt.  No toilet paper in between the paw pads, either.  Nope.  Not at all.  This dog's going to be great.

I'm right in trusting her...aren't I?




Leave a Reply.